Food | Homemade Ranch Dressing (Feat. Wake Robin Farm)

Last week I shared my interview with Wake Robin Farm – a small farm that curates the CSA bag which I receive on a bi-weekly basis. I love receiving a portion of their seasonal bounty – it always inspires me to get cooking. Not too long ago I received some beautiful dill in my bag. I knew immediately that it was ranch makin’ time!

DSC03939

I don’t kid when I say – this is my favourite dressing, ever. As many great things, I stumbled upon the recipe in a moment of desperation. It was pizza night, and we were all out of ranch. I know. I know. Horrible.

I went to Google, found Ree Drummond’s Homemade Ranch recipe, and the rest is history. There is really nothing like homemade dressing, and it’s not even that hard to make! I usually don’t have fresh herbs in my house so I substitute dried herbs, and it’s still so good. I also rarely have the patience to make buttermilk, so I use regular milk or almond milk instead.

DSC03938

Ree Drummond’s Ranch Dressing with my modifications (aka the cheater’s version)

Ingredients:

1 clove of garlic, minced – I use the pre chopped stuff you can find at the grocery store.

1/4 tsp kosher salt

1 cup mayonnaise

1/2 cup sour cream – I think you could also try greek yogurt.

1/4 cup flat leaf Italian parsley, minced – I use a bunch of all-purpose seasoning.

2 Tbsp fresh chives (and/or dill), minced – Usually I would use dried herbs but not when fresh dill is around!

1 tsp Worcestershire sauce

1/2 tsp ground black pepper

1/2 tsp white vinegar – I have also used white wine vinegar. 

1/4 tsp paprika

1/8 tsp cayenne pepper – I like to use sriricha sauce instead.

Dash hot sauce – Ditto above.

1/4 – 1/2 cup buttermilk (to desired consistency) – Again, I use regular or almond milk and it work’s just fine.

Directions:

My favourite way to prepare and store my ranch dressing is in a mason jar.

  1. Simply toss everything in
  2. Pop a lid on it
  3. Shake, shake, shake!
  4. Add more milk if you want to thin it down/make it go further
  5. Keep in the fridge – it tastes amazing after it has sit for a few hours

Enjoy on pizza, salad, breakfast burritos…the possibilities are endless!

Leave a Reply

