Life | 5 Questions to Ask Yourself Before Buying Anything

A thought provoking podcast by Pure Green Magazine, featuring Madeleine Somerville, got me thinking this week. I can break down what I have learned into one sentence: possessions are responsibilities.

Madeline, author of All You Need Is Less: An Eco-Friendly Guide to Guilt Free Living and Stress-Free Simplicity (whew!), leaves us with an excellent list of questions to ask yourself before buying anything; thereby consciously considering our impact of consuming. I wrote down her list on my phone, just in case, and I use it daily:

  1. Do I need it?
  2. Can I make it?
  3. Can I borrow it?
  4. Can I buy it second hand?
  5. How can I find the best quality?

Her environmental, social, and economically conscious approach to consuming has resonated with me, and honestly, I’m relieved. I feel less pressure to buy the latest and greatest, but at the same time, if I have checked off this list, I can feel confident that I have made a conscious decision.

If you haven’t discovered the Pure Green Podcast yet, I suggest you check it out! If you’re like me, you’ll have hours of listening ahead.

Leave a Reply

