Update | A Blog Face Lift & Conscious Living

Once in a while it becomes absolutely necessary to go shopping for a new shirt. Or a pair of pants. Or a purse. Because when you do, getting ready in the morning is that much more fun. Metaphorically, I’ve been feeling like this space needed a new purse, or some sprucing up, so that when I “got ready in the morning,” I was even more excited to…errr, blog.

What I’m trying to say is, have you noticed the blog’s new facelift!? It’s some simple changes, but it feels refreshing. What do you think?? Let me know if you have any comments or suggestions.

Along the same line, I want you to know that I am trying to refine my focus for Canadian Julia. Beyond the way it looks, I want the content to create a space where people can come and be (even just a little bit more) encouraged, inspired and/or happy. And that includes me!

So, I did some thinking about the blog’s subheading. It’s essentially the essence or mantra of the blog, so it needs to be insightful, and true. It used to read, “Happy, Delicious, Whole Living, from Canada.” But for a long time, and even still, I don’t quite understand what, “whole living” means. Is it, living with 100% fervour every day? I can extrapolate but it feels like I’m describing something that I can’t quite achieve – it’s intimidating. Maybe it’s just me.

Creating (or blogging) with some uncertainty about what I’m trying to express, made it difficult to progress. So, woah, I changed the subheading. Cue the applause for finally getting to my point.

Now, when you visit the Canadian Julia home page, you’ll see that I have replaced “whole living” with “conscious living.” To me, the words conscious living have power and direction behind them, but they’re forging too. Conscious living means living with intent, direction, and care. It’s not about being perfect 100% of the time – I’m certainly not – but having it as a mantra does give you a little kick in the butt to try and be the best you possible today.

So that’s where I’m heading with my blog! You can expect to see a few larger pictures (one of the many physical changes that I’m delighted with), and blog posts that will share some of the ways that I am trying to live consciously.

Leave a Reply

