Food | Locally Sourced Homemade Granola

Until the last year or so, I wouldn’t have had a second thought as to where I would buy my food, and where it came from before that. (The grocery store, and probably somewhere warm?). I’ve been feeling convicted of that lately, but not in a depressing way. Thanks to a few different podcasts, websites, and friends, I have felt more inspired than I have in a long time. Mostly I have felt a shift in my thinking, a patience to learn before consuming that wasn’t there before.

It’s important to know what you are consuming, at least a fraction of the time. We all love convenience, but perhaps one person’s convenience is another person/plant/animal’s misfortune? I’ve started to see each purchase as an opportunity for casting a vote, even brightening someones day, and/or pushing a small business to greater success.

DSC03699

This recipe includes locally sourced oats from a mill that has existed 1819. I have no good excuses for not visiting before this week, but I am happy to be a customer now. I’m glad to know that the price of their oats and flour are more than reasonable, that there are local jobs to support this business, that my purchase didn’t have to travel very much to get to me, and that the quality is high. I don’t know what I could say about other oats and flours, and therein lies the difference. I like to know, rather than wonder.


Homemade Granola

Ingredients:

4 c old-fashioned large flake oats (not quick cooking)

1 c almonds and/or a mix of seeds (I also used pumpkin and sunflower seeds)

1/2 tsp kosher salt

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 c melted butter

1/3 c packed brown sugar (or maple syrup)

1/4 c honey

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 c hemp seeds

2 Tbsp chia seeds

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 300 F–Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

2. In a large bowl, combine oats, nuts and sees, salt, and cinnamon.

3. In a small bowl, combine melted butter, brown sugar, honey, and vanilla. Whisk well and pour over oat mixture. Toss to combine and spread granola over prepared baking sheet.

4. Bake 20 minutes, stir carefully and then continue to bake for another 15 minutes. Remove from oven, transfer to large bowl. Add hemp and chia seeds. Cool completely and store at room temp. in an air tight container.

One thought on “Food | Locally Sourced Homemade Granola

Leave a Reply

