Food | Raw Oat Porridge

Breakfast and I don’t really get along. Don’t get me wrong, I adore breakfast food, but I don’t like eating early in the morning. Most mornings I’d take a fresh juice over eggs and toast. Once 10 AM rolls around, however, totally different story.

But my aversion to eating early in the morning can’t stop me from doing it, because 9 times out of 10 I need to be at work by 8:30 AM. Enter one of my newest early morning breakfast companions, raw oat porridge. I got the idea from these lovely, inspiring, green kitchen folk.

Here’s my version of their recipe.

Raw Oat Porridge

Serves one.

1/2 cup whole oats, soaked (I soak mine overnight in equal parts water)
1/2 cup walnuts, soaked (same as the oats)
1 apple, cored and cubed
1 orange, juice
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp ground cardamom or cinnamon
fresh berries for topping

Combine ingredients in a blender until smooth, and serve.

Optional additions: banana, honey or maple syrup, bee pollen, cocoa, peanut butter (omit orange juice).

2 thoughts on “Food | Raw Oat Porridge

Leave a Reply

