Haul | Petit Vour Natural Beauty Box (August 2014)

There are few things I like better than mail day. And when the mail includes a box of vegan, natural beauty products, well, afternoon made. If you, like me, feel the need to try more natural products on your body, then you might enjoy this too.

I recently subscribed to Petit Vour, just one of the many beauty box subscription services available today. Across the board, you generally subscribe on a month-by-month basis to your box of choice, and you receive 3-5 products per month. I chose Petit Vour because they curate high quality, vegan friendly, natural products. That means, “no animal testing, animal products, parabens, phthalates, formaldehyde, sulfates, and so much more” (Source). Each box includes 4-5 personalized “generously sized” beauty products (Source), and it costs $23 USD per month, for Canadians.

DSC02536 DSC02537

Plus its fuuuunnn. Mail, guys!

Before I venture further into the August box, just a little bit about my experience with beauty boxes: I have tried two other brands before (not strictly vegan or natural), and for the most part,  I have thoroughly enjoyed them. I am usually impressed with how great the value is, especially when the boxes include full size products. Though, sometimes the experience of getting a box full of unknown products reminds me of buying $1 grab bags from Claire’s. You remember them? A bag of hit and miss goodies? A good bag might have contained nail polish, a key chain, and a strand of purple and yellow fake hair attached to a barrette.

Do you get what I’m saying? Some months you might receive something that you don’t fancy, and that’s normal. You just hope the other 3 or 4 items make up for it. Let’s get into the August box, shall we?

DSC02538 DSC02551

1. Earth Body Beauty Mask – SAMPLE SIZE (Full size $34)

  • Vitamin rich mask and/or cleanser
  • Removes makeup, cleanses, and exfoliates

VERDICT: This was a nice, relatively large sample size. I wouldn’t repurchase the full size right away, but I have enjoyed using the sample, and will continue using it up. I didn’t find it gave me a “glow” but it did cleanse and exfoliate.

DSC02546 DSC02547

2. Beauty Without Cruelty Natural Eyeliner – FULL SIZE $18.50

  • Smooth and creamy application
  • Brown shade

VERDICT: I was really pleased that this eyeliner was brown versus black. It wasn’t long-lasting, but I am ok with that because I don’t like having makeup that requires scrubbing to take it off.  I I truly never wear eyeliner so this product was a slight “miss” for me, but I am happy to have a good, natural one in my collection.

DSC02541 DSC02548

3. Mi-Me Tangerine Lip Butter – FULL SIZE $5

  • Hydrates and moisturises lips
  • Sweet smell and taste

VERDICT: I didn’t dislike it at all, but I didn’t love it either. The smell is nice, it is smooth on the lips (despite a somewhat grainy texture at first) and it hydrates nicely. Just doesn’t wow me.

DSC02542 DSC02549

4. Harvey Prince Journey Fragrance – SAMPLE SIZE (Full Size $55)

  • Described as exotic, awakening, transformative
  • Notes of Indonesian Cove Bud, Australian Sandalwood, Moroccan Rose, French Bergamot, Indian Tuberose, Japanese Orange Flower, Lebanese Cedarwood, Turkish Cyclamen, and South African Freesia

VERDICT: It sound’s like a cross continental adventure, so the name “Journey” is certainly appropriate. Fragrance is so personal, and this one isn’t for me. I won’t repurchase and might not be able to use the sample. I’ll pass it on to a friend who find’s it more their style.

DSC02540 DSC02544

5. Rosemira Organics Sweet Coconut Body Butter – SAMPLE SIZE (Full Size $22)

  • Rich, luxurious and deeply hydrating

VERDICT: I really wish the sample size was larger, because this is a great body butter! It smells very fragrant, like sweet coconut – go figure, and it keeps skin hydrated and soft. I used it on my arms before bed and they felt dewy and fresh. This, I would repurchase!

Overall, not an amazing box this month, but I can’t wait for the September box. I’ve seen some pretty great boxes in the past, and maybe a nail polish or lipstick will appear in the near future.

Have you ever tried Petit Vour, or is there another beauty box that you love/have heard good things about?

Disclaimer: I am not being paid or endorsed. All opinions are my own.

2 thoughts on “Haul | Petit Vour Natural Beauty Box (August 2014)

Leave a Reply

